MIDNIGHT VALENTINE by J.T. Geissinger ~~ NEW REVIEW ~~

Posted February 13, 2018 by Lisa Marie in Blog, blogtour, Contemporary Romance, Ebook, Ebook Priced 3.99 or Less, Free On KU, New Release, Newest Reviews, Reviews, The HUB / 0 Comments

Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger
on February 6, 2017
Source: Elle Woods PR
four-half-stars
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
Barnes & Noble
The Book Depository
Also by this author: Make Me Sin (Bad Habit, #2), Wicked Beautiful, Sin With Me (Bad Habit #3), Wicked Intentions (Wicked Games, #3), Wicked Intentions (Wicked Games, #3)

A hauntingly powerful love story in the tradition of The Notebook and The Time Traveler’s Wife.
True love never dies.
Megan and Cassidy were childhood sweethearts who thought they would be together forever. Fate had other plans. Soon after they were married, Cass’s life was tragically cut short. Still grieving her soul mate five years later, Megan moves to the small town of Seaside, Oregon, hoping to rebuild her life.
Her first night there, she meets the town recluse, Theo. Withdrawn, guarded, and mysteriously silent since a terrible accident left him scarred, Theo takes an instant and inexplicable dislike to Megan. But as their paths cross again and again, Megan becomes convinced there’s more to Theo than meets the eye. When she discovers the reason for his silence, his nightmares, and especially his pointed dislike, Megan becomes convinced of something far more astonishing.
Is a second chance at a once-in-a-lifetime love possible, or is a broken heart the cruelest kind of liar?

 

When I open a romance novel,  start reading, and come to find that the story is different and unusual, my day is made.  It’s like finding $10 in the pocket of a coat you haven’t worn in while. It’s a surprise bonus that I didn’t expect but feels like a jackpot.

Midnight Valentine is told from the POV of Megan. Megan is starting a new chapter in her life (sort of) by moving to Seaside and opening a B  & B, the Buttercup.   This is the culmination of a dream started years ago before her husband, Cass, was killed in a car accident.  Megan is the type of character who a lot of people can relate to.  A woman whose grief has had her stuck in place for 5 years, going through  the motions of life as she tries to regain her balance while missing her other half.   Theo is the local contractor and was once the golden boy of the town.  Handsome, talented, loyal, he hasn’t spoken a word since an accident  stole his voice years ago.   Theo is a complicated character because he not only doesn’t speak so it’s hard to get a read on him but he also takes an immediate dislike to Megan though other actions belies his hating her.

The push and pull between these two is at times humorous, at times confounding as each are people whose broken pieces are jagged and raw yet they haven’t lost themselves completely.  With a touch of the otherworldly alongside the harsh realities of being the one left behind, the story is one of strength, hope and love. Ms. Geissinger’s writing  style allows for a quick immersion in the story and a “just one more chapter” pace that continues through to the last page.

Suspend what you “know” about what is real and possible and dive into a story about love that doesn’t ever die but is carried with us wherever we go, no matter where that ends up being.

 

 

BUY LINKS:

READ FOR FREE WITH KINDLE UNLIMITED

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2iQ94Hh
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2yxI3ic
Amazon AU: http://amzn.to/2yUMisK
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2AEQCJG
Print: http://amzn.to/2nJ51Qa

four-half-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Cover
four-half-stars
Overall: four-half-stars
Divider

Tags:

Leave a Reply